WWW Wednesday // 5.24.17

www-wednesday-title-card

Hey, y’all! Sorry I’ve been a little sparse with the book reviews lately, but life happens (AKA I GRADUATED FROM COLLEGE Y’ALL), and reading is (unfortunately) not always my #1 priority. To alleviate my time between reviews, I decided I’m going to jump on the meme train! WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @Taking On A World Of Words, where I have to answer three simple questions: what am I currently reading, what I have recently read, and what I want to read soon. I did this for the first time last week and really enjoy this meme, as I am always reading multiple books at once and queueing my next choices right on my nightstand. So, here we go!

What am I currently reading?

midnight in the garden of good and evil   the bone season   pride and prejudice

  • Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt: I’ve already started this book, and unfortunately I’m already disappointed. For whatever reason, I thought this was supposed to be a creepy book about what goes bump in the night in Savannah, Georgia, but instead it is just one man telling the tales of eccentric individuals he encounters Savannah, in order to paint a broad picture of what the small Southern town is really like. It’s not necessarily boring, but I think because it varies so much from what I had expected it to be about that I feel kind of turned off by it now. I will finish it, though.
  • The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon: I received this book from a Goodreads Giveaway ages ago, and I just haven’t gotten around to it even though it’s been at the top of my to-read list for quite a while. I’m about 300 (out of 450) pages in, and I think that Shannon is incredible at creating a new world onto its own. Paige Mahoney is a clairvoyant and, thus, a criminal just by being alive, so it certainly doesn’t help that she’s also part of one of the most notorious clairvoyant gangs in “Scion London”, a futuristic London in which it seems a dictatorship is the rule and clairvoyants are hunted and seen as diseased. However, Paige soon finds that there is more beyond Scion London that is at play in regards to how their society came to be, and as she traverses through these secrets, so does that reader. Even though it’s easy to say that this book is another dystopian YA novel, it definitely is unique in the story behind how their society came to be. Additionally, there has been no love triangle (thus far), and I don’t hate the main girl even though she’s definitely encroaching Mary Jane territory very quickly. All in all, I’m impressed thus far, but we’ll see how the last 150 pages go.
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: I’m slowly but surely trying to make my way through a list of classic books that one of my extremely literary friends gave me. I haven’t read a lot of them, even back in high school as my teachers for some reason were obsessed with war novels and Shakespeare and nothing else. Although I didn’t really enjoy the first book on my list (Jane Eyre), I have higher hopes for Jane Austen’s work. A lot of people told me that Pride and Prejudice has more of a plot than Jane Eyre did, which was definitely a huge issue of mine with the book. I need more than just simple romance; I need something else. I’m only about 150 pages (out of 300) in, and I already adore Elizabeth as a heroine and despise (but begrudgingly love) Mr. Darcy. According to my friend, this means I’m reading it right.

What have I just finished reading?

a study in charlotte   outlander   a court of thorns and roses

  • A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes #1) by Brittany Cavallaro: To be honest, I picked this up because I judged a book by its beautiful cover… and wow, I’ve never been so disappointed by a cover and a description that both looked so promising. This book is strange because when you read it, the quality of writing implies it is for middle schoolers… but there’s discussion of hardcore (and completely unnecessary) drug use as well as casual mentions of rape that also added nothing to the plot. The “mystery” was solved by me pretty much five seconds in, and there were many times I just threw my book down in frustration because someone started suspecting someone for no other reason than they looked at them sideways. Both of the main characters – Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson – were insults to their ancestors and such cliches, it actually made me nauseated at parts, especially when the author decided to mention that Watson wears tortoise shell glasses without the lenses in them that made him look like Buddy Holly. I think I’ve said enough for you to understand why this book was pretty horrible. Rating: 1.5 / 5 stars, review coming soon.
  • Outlander (Outlander #1) by Diana Gabaldon: I’ve been reading this book for quite a while, mostly just because I misplaced it for like a month (whoops). But honestly, if it wasn’t for the 50 Shades of Grey-esque sex scenes (and not in a good way), as well as a little more editing to narrow down on more important parts of the book, it’d probably get a higher rating. I will never understand why Claire decided on the path she ended up traveling down rather than returning to where she had been before (summarized horribly due to fear of spoiling), and that’s definitely also a reason it isn’t getting 5/5 stars… because the time traveling historical fiction book isn’t real enough. Sigh. I will continue to read this series though, because I do love Jamie even though I should;t, and Gabaldon is an incredible writer. Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars, review coming soon.
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR #1) by Sarah J. Maas: I would have liked this book a lot more if it hadn’t been such a direct rip off of Beauty & The Beast at some parts (like, the first solid half). Additionally, everything was relatively predictable; the main relationship just kind of fell flat; and the villain was pretty awful in the sense that she was a huge cliche and very weak. Pretty much the only thing that saved this book from getting a 2 / 5 was Lucien, because W O W. *Heart eye emoji* I think he’s easily jumped into Top 3 of my favorite of all of Maas’ characters, edging very closely to my #1, Aedion Ashryver from Throne of Glass. But I digress. Rating: 3 / 5 stars, review coming soon.

What do I think I’ll read next?

exit west   red rising   perfect little world

  • Exit West by Moshin Hamid: One of the books that I’d actually been counting down until its release after seeing it advertised on a Buzzfeed Books article, I was pumped when it was offered as a Book of the Month for the last valid month of my subscription. (*Cue sad violin music*) Anyway, the book is about a young couple that fall in passionate love during a time of civil unrest in their unnamed homeland that could be anywhere, apparently – Syria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Israel, Korea, etc. The only thing that is clear is that they need to escape their homeland and their families behind so that they can foster their lives and futures somewhere else, and this book is about their struggle in not only making that decision, but making it to their destination as well. Note: I first saw the description for this book after Trump’s failed (and psychotic) attempt to ban Muslims from this country, and I saw it as a little beautiful piece of literary resistance against it, even though it was probably written months before. Still – I am here for it.
  • Red Rising (Red Rising #1) by Pierce Brown: This is another free Giveaway from Goodreads that I got eons ago that has been sitting at the tip-top of my to-do list for a long time, but has remained untouched. It is the first of a completed trilogy – music to my ears, as I hate waiting for unreleased books to come out – about a boy at the bottom of a caste system who, after years of slaving away under the surface of his planet, realizes that they are literally slaves for an upper class he didn’t even know existed before. Ultimately, the tale ends up about him saying “screw it” and forcibly making his way up the caste ladder to destroy it… and oh, PS, this is based on freaking Mars. It is a sci-fi, dystopian YA based on a very real caste system… what more could I want?!
  • Perfect Little World by Kevin Wilson: Another BOTM choice!! First of all, this cover is gorgeous. Second of all, this book is about an eccentric billionaire who decides that, as a psychosocial experiment, he is going to take ten families, all with newborns, and place them in a community distanced from all else, and have them raise their kids together. And not just in the same area together, but actually together; each kid technically ends up having nineteen parents. You heard me right: nineteen, because plot twist – our main character, Izzy, is actually a desperate single mother who only signed up for the experiment as an opportunity to have the finances to properly raise her son and provide him with all the opportunities she could. However, the community is anything but perfect; as the years go on, resentment grows and secrets begin to surface as funding for the project runs low. And I am so so so pumped to see what happens when all of that comes to a head.
Leave a Reply

