Book Traveling Thursday // 3.30.17

book-traveling-thursday

Hi, all! This meme, Book Traveling Thursdays, was created by Catia (@The Girl Who Read Too Much) and Danielle (@Danielle’s Book Blog). This week’s challenge is: “It’s Take a Walk in the Park Day… choose a book that always relaxes you.”

To be honest, this one was a little difficult for me. I really like action-packed or mystery-filled books, so there’s few and far between that “relax” me, as I usually am looking for the suspense factor in every book that I read. Finally, I ended up choosing a piece that I’ve read just recently, but that I find myself continuously thinking about: Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. My roommate actually bought this for me for Christmas, even though before I had expressed no interest in reading it. As much as I want to be, I’m not a huge fan of poetry, and I’m just now starting to enjoy short story compilations, so anything that isn’t one solid novel sometimes deters me. I think because I stretched out of my comfort zone in order to read this beautiful series of poems about the bitter and sweet parts of life, I enjoyed it even more. I found myself relating to more of the poems and stories within than I thought I was going to, and I even found myself really appreciating Kaur’s style and prose. Although there’s definitely some sad bits in there, I closed the book feeling full, feeling sweet – just like milk and honey.

Original (and my favorite) Cover

A simple explanation for a simple cover: This. Is. Beautiful.

milk and honey

German Cover

Although I like the gold title, I really dislike when books plaster “New York Times bestseller” on the front. While this is undoubtedly a huge accomplishment for Kaur, I know for me as a reader, it doesn’t make me any more inclined to buy the book; in fact, it may make me less inclined. I like my book covers simple and beautiful, and the more words that are on the cover, the less that is likely to happen. Additionally, I’m not sure what the “Lago” is in the bottom left hand corner; maybe it’s the publishing company? Either way, it really takes away from the cover as well.

milk and honey part 2

Leave a Reply

