Book Traveling Thursday // 2.23.17

book-traveling-thursday

Hi, all! After finally getting relief from mid-semester exams and responsibilities, I am glad to say that I am back, and finally getting to do a meme I’ve been wanting to do for a while now! This meme, Book Traveling Thursdays, was created by Catia (@The Girl Who Read Too Much) and Danielle (@Danielle’s Book Blog). I stumbled upon it a few weeks back but just got around to checking out their Goodreads book in order to join in on the fun, and I’m super excited! This week’s challenge is: “With the Oscars coming up soon choose a book that you would like to see as a movie”.

The book (or series, more appropriately) that I chose to highlight is The Queen of the Tearling. Although there have been rumors swirling for a long time that this is going to be a movie starring Emma Watson, I’m really hoping they’re just that – rumors. I love Emma Watson deeply, but I don’t think she’s the right choice to play Kelsea, the main character. Despite that, I would still be very excited for a movie adaptation. Johansen is an incredible writer that has a created an incredible world that I think would play out on screen beautifully. Additionally – and this is something you’ll never hear me say again, most likely – this is one of the few book series where I would like the movie to end it differently. The Queen of the Tearling was easily on its way to becoming one of my favorites, but Johansen managed to ruin that for me in about the last two chapters. I’d be interested to see what other ending a cinematic team could come up with.

the-queen-of-the-tearling-3

Original cover:
While this isn’t my favorite cover, I still think it is quite beautiful. The red is a little aggressive for me, but I think the blue and gold of the city’s image within the shape of a sapphire fits perfectly for the book. My biggest transgression with this cover, however, is the fact that the first “The” is randomly within the Q? I appreciate good graphic design and this is definitely the opposite of that.

la-reina-del-tearling

Favorite cover (Spanish version):
I love the simplicity of the three colors, as well as all of the not overdone swirl graphics . The Keep from a distance shows how tiny the Tear is, and how vulnerable it is, which I think really helps accentuate the frail state of the country as a whole when Kelsea arrives. Additionally, the editor or whoever seemed to realize how stupid the title looked on the previous cover, and made the necessary changes. Even though it’s still the same text and title (and technically different letters), it looks much sleeker than its predecessor, and the title doesn’t completely steal away from the picture attached to it.

the-queen-of-the-tearling-2
Least favorite cover:
The entire series is released in matching books with similar designs to all three, and this is my least favorite. Not only does it have the scratchy texture over the entire image, which reminds me of my middle school days thinking I was a Photoshop genius, but I also am not totally sure why the “crown” is actually a bear trap of some sort. Creative? Yes. Relevant? No. And once again, I’ve got issues with the text that is used. Why is the Q in two separate pieces? Why did they feel the need to make the letters look so uneven and mismatched? I have many questions, and no answers in sight.

And that’s it for this week! I’m hoping to finally tackle some reviews I’ve got hanging out in the drafts section, so keep an eye out for those. In the meanwhile: what books would you like to see turned into movies? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

